Copyright

posted on #1
Well...let's open a can of worms today :o

How can people post remakes of tunes already under a copyright licence on Youtube and the like? Heck, how does it work when a professional makes an Album with a song obviously derived from an already published song?
Are royalties paid?...I would assume so on the large professional market, but how does that apply to little folk like me that say just wanna do my own rendition of "Highway Star" for example, and put it on Youtube. I know we frown upon doing Covers here at Wikiloops, and I most respect and appreciate that! We don't need any liable suits do we Dick!

so...to get back to how this relates to Wikiloops...

But what is goona stop someone from downloading one of our tracks, adding their own instrument, or slightly modify, (if that) and make it "their own" and post it on one of these sites that actually sell tracks! and make money from our endeavours, guess nothing?

I am also a visual Artist. When I am commissioned to do a portrait, I need a signed consent form, if I use another photographer for the project, I need not only his/her release, but he/she needs a model release etc. etc. etc.

With that said I am only saying that there seems to be different rules for music. Unless you have been dead for 50 years and your music/sheets/lyrics etc. become Public domain there are laws forbidding these acts, and who actually "police" these activities...and did I break any laws by posting this Video?:|

I am reading up on some more [url=http://www.reach.net/~scherer/p/copyhelp.htm#p2]here[/url]

[youtube]BfQz4iknDxY[/youtube]
Edited by MusicWorx on 29-01-2017 18:32
...thanks for listening, and Happy Jammin!
posted on #2
Supporter