Home »Forum»Recording and mixing»Tracks Not in Synch???

Tracks Not in Synch???

posted on #1
Supporter
Ok I got a question and keep in mind I'm not even 2 months into having an interface, so I'm still a noob! :)

...I did a bass track for a tune Moor sang ... instead of playing along with his track, I did the bass playing along with just the guitar played by Cody Tripp. When I was done doing the bass track, I deleted Cody's track and inserted the track Moor did. I fiddled with it a bit but I couldn't get it to synch up. Instead of spending time fiddling with that, I looked at the "tree" and saw that Alice sang a tune over Cody's guitar back when. So I grabbed Alice's track and pasted it in above my bass track .. it synched up perfectly and I uploaded it.

I talked to Moor about it and he said he didn't shorten or manipulate his tracks in any way.

Can anyone give us (Moor and I) an idea why it didn't synch.

Thanks very much for any info in advance.

Wondering Noob,

Ernie
Edited by Ernie440 on 26-04-2016 20:48
posted on #2
Supporter
Ok forget it ... I just realized "tenche" the drummer was in the tree just before Moor's addition ... DUH!!! I guess tenche manipulated time in the track length. haha D'oh! Early onset bass player senility. It's ain't rocket science Pudsy!! :P
Edited by Ernie440 on 26-04-2016 21:54
posted on #3
And I took the file Tenche added too.. :) Good thing it's sorted now :)
"You'll Stumble In My Footsteps" - Depeche Mode
"I always listen to what people are not saying"
posted on #4
Supporter
It's a common problem for HD stems to not line up in your DAW! It's usually easy to sort with a bit of attention but it's remembering to put everything back to the 'beginning' (i.e. bar 1), based on the master reference track before you mix down which I often forget!
posted on #5
Supporter
Having a count in on all published tracks helps
Pure fingerstyle
posted on #6
Supporter
yes, a count in... you know "a one and a two and a three and a four".........