Home »Forum»Open mic at the blue Iguana »How many pro musicians here?

How many pro musicians here?

posted on #1
I've been really bowled over by the quality of musicianship here, so I'm presuming there's quite a few professional musicians around. I'm just curious what percentage of people are amateurs and what are professional or semi-professional? (By pro I mean you make all or most of your income from music; semi-pro is you get paid for some of your music - say gigs - but it's not your main income and amateur is... well, you know that!).

I'm definitely on the amateur side, btw :)
posted on #2
Supporter
I get paid for NOT playing by some people, does this make me a Semi-Pro?? :D :D :D
posted on #3
I am an amateur I play for fun and the pure enjoyment of it. Another good question here would be who is self taught. I am self taught and just jam to what sounds and feels good to me. Cool topic
posted on #4
Supporter
I am an amateur. Original musical background was being traditionally trained playing tuba for 12 years. However, switched from tuba to bass guitar since tuba was not a way to impress the girls and we all know that bass players are regarded as the "chick magnets" in any band:)
Anyway, self taught on bass guitar.
keith
Kmoon235
posted on #5
Supporter
Nice topic :) Semi-pro by your definition (though not really playing enough nowadays to really live up that) and self-taught. I often think it would have been cool to have taken it more seriously but I don't know anyone who has actually succeeded in earning a 'good' living from music, including some ferociously talented players. Most of them have ended up getting 'day' jobs to pay the mortgage.
posted on #6
Supporter
Self made bedroom player (Attic player before in my parent's place!!)
some bands, stages, music for friends: weddings, events, soundtrack videos... music for fun
Just playing with real sound (amp) in wikimeetings !!
But once more, full free time in since wikiloops :) (PC Cubase Vst Headphones)