Home »Forum»Feedback and Suggestions»Changed facebook preview pics to 2017 version

Changed facebook preview pics to 2017 version

posted on #1
Supporter
Posts: 2089
Joined: 30.12.10
i just exchanged the track preview-picture generator to the new version -
the image will now show the uploaders profile banner (or fallback to using the avatar if you do not have a profile banner)
since I do not regularyly use facebook myself, please do let me know if that new format works for you :)
Thank you!
"Sorry - had to do it!" - Les Claypool

yes, you are looking at the administrators signature.
posted on #2
Supporter
Posts: 502
Joined: 27.09.14
tried to click a facebook link from one of my tracks, got this error message. Chrome, Win 7
Not sure what it means, but you surely do :)

Kann URL nicht laden: Die Domain dieser URL ist nicht in den Domains der App vorhanden. Um diese URL laden zu können, füge alle Domains und Subdomains deiner App im Appdomain-Feld in deinen App-Einstellungen hinzu.
posted on #3
Supporter
Posts: 2089
Joined: 30.12.10
er... what exactly did you do?
click on the facebook icon displayed above the wikiloops comments field?
Or are you inside some facebook app, or the wikiloops android app?! *confusion*
I get the usual preview dialogue when clicking on the share-button on wikiloops, that looks all as intended on my end
"Sorry - had to do it!" - Les Claypool

yes, you are looking at the administrators signature.
posted on #4
Supporter
Posts: 502
Joined: 27.09.14
If you go to any track, under the "comment" box there are 4 icons that you click if you want to share on FB for instance, that's when I get the error.
posted on #5
Supporter
Posts: 2089
Joined: 30.12.10
please check the browser address you are being forewarded to, it should look like in below screenshot, if it does not, please post me whatever adress you are being directed to :)
Dick attached the following image:



"Sorry - had to do it!" - Les Claypool

yes, you are looking at the administrators signature.
posted on #6
Supporter
Posts: 502
Joined: 27.09.14
this is what I got in the browser:

https://www.facebook.com/v2.3/dialog/optin/?app_id=966242223397117&redirect_uri=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fsharer%2Fsharer.php%3Fu%3Dhttps%253A%252F%252Fwww.wikiloops.com%252Fbackingtrack-jam-108844.php%26t%3Dwikiloops.com&display=popup
posted on #7
Supporter
Posts: 194
Joined: 08.04.14
i got problems with fb link as well... see pm
posted on #8
Supporter
Posts: 2089
Joined: 30.12.10
Hey, thanks for bumping this, I just re-checked with the so called facebook linter and noticed FB had not pcked up on the changed images by itself... built a little workaround, the replacement image should now be loaded on older posts as expected.

@TeeGee :
Could you please try to use on of the sharing buttons on the "normal" wikiloops and see if you get the same error?
The link you are being redirected to is obviously different to the one provided on wikiloops, and it would be interesting to know if that happens on the old button as well - chances are facebook blocks the w10-subdomain because it is not indexed for robots/crawlers, so the issue might vanish once the track moves to the live domain.
Could not reproduce it on my end tho, which is odd again.
"Sorry - had to do it!" - Les Claypool

yes, you are looking at the administrators signature.
posted on #9
Supporter
Posts: 502
Joined: 27.09.14
OK checked it with the old wikiloops version (did ctrlf5), with 3 browsers all giving the same erro chrome, IE and Vivaldi

https://www.facebook.com/v2.3/dialog/optin/?app_id=966242223397117&redirect_uri=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fsharer%2Fsharer.php%3Fu%3Dhttps%253A%252F%252Fwww.wikiloops.com%252Fbackingtrack-jam-112388.php%26t%3Dwikiloops.com&display=popup

to get the above link to show you need to copy and paste it into your browser, just clicking does not work by the way
Edited by TeeGee on 29-07-2017 14:05
posted on #10
Supporter
Posts: 2089
Joined: 30.12.10
allrighty then... been fiddling on the preview images just once more, since the centering of large images hadn't worked as expected... so, currently re-rendering all active users preview images once more, and I must say some look really really nice by now.
I've also included an auto-updater, so the image gets redrawn immediatly anytime you change your profile banner.

now, concerning the issue with the "app is not allowed by..."-blah blah FB error, we did some more testing with the help of Mr.Bee last night (who also had the error) and he ended up noticing:
... for a reason i had deactivated the plugins and app platform ...
i just turned platform on again on fb and bingo now i can share with the fb button.
the param is in the prefs / apps / apps-sites-plugins : you can either activate or turn off the platform


Please have another look if that could have been the cause of your problem, too @TeeGee :)
"Sorry - had to do it!" - Les Claypool

yes, you are looking at the administrators signature.
wikiloops online jamsessions are brought to you with friendly support by:
taBASSco from Belgium

"It expands your horizon - and you don't have to make appointments! "

wikiloops.com uses Cookies to provide you the best possible browsing experience.
Read more in our data privacy policy.