PC question

posted on #1
User Avatar Supporter
Posts: 47
Joined: 24.03.16
I just bought a new PC

Processor: Intel i5-7400 Quad Core Processor (3.0 - 3.50 GHz, 6MB Cache)
Hard Drive: 500GB Solid State Drive; RAM: 16GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 64 bit
Memoru and Hard Drive Upgrade -

what's the difference between 32 and 64 DAW software should i upgrade music software to 64 bit? running 32 still on old PC. waiting before i install on new PC.
i don't know how to explane any better do you understand what i'm trying to say.
i haven't kept up with times when come to tech stuff .

thanks for any help have a great day :)
Edited by Mikebanez on January 19 2018 23:18
MIKEBINEZ
posted on #2
User Avatar Supporter
Posts: 71
Joined: 16.07.15
If you have a lot of 32bit VST's go with 32bit daw.
Unless there are 64bit replacements for your 32 vst's.

32bit vst's will not work in 64bit daw unless you use vst bridging
which can be messy in my opinion.

I think Reaper has built-in support for bridging.
The trend is 64bit.
posted on #3
User Avatar Supporter
Posts: 47
Joined: 24.03.16
thanks for your help i think i should just upgrade to 64 bit DAW. no hassles in the long run:D
MIKEBINEZ
posted on #4
User Avatar Supporter
Posts: 171
Joined: 30.04.16
get ready to blast off!
posted on #5
User Avatar Supporter
Posts: 47
Joined: 24.03.16
Yes I hope So!!!:W
MIKEBINEZ
posted on #6
User Avatar Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 26.03.17
Agree with Franky. 32bit VST's do not work with 64bit programs (DAW) unless you use jbridge which is just better to use 64 bit programs instead of messing with jbridge.
posted on #7
User Avatar Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 26.03.17
Agree with Franky. 32bit VST's do not work with 64bit programs (DAW) unless you use jbridge which is just better to use 64 bit programs instead of messing with jbridge.
posted on #8
User Avatar Supporter
Posts: 65
Joined: 09.11.16
Pfffft.... any decent DAW can run 32 Bit VST's on a 64 Bit CPU....the other way around is a no go :* We're talking PC here, not half eaten apples! :P DAW's like Sonar/Cakewalk, Reaper and Cubase run these without any hassle!
Edited by eGiL on January 20 2018 23:56
posted on #9
User Avatar Supporter
Posts: 49
Joined: 15.05.14
Reaper is definitely worth the money.
posted on #10
User Avatar Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 26.03.17
Egil I think it depends which VST's and which DAW. I've tried 32bit and some didn't work.
Edited by ArkRockStudio on January 21 2018 00:42
posted on #11
User Avatar Supporter
Posts: 65
Joined: 09.11.16
ArkRockStudio wrote:
Egil I think it depends which VST's and which DAW. I've tried 32bit and some didn't work.


Some old VST's are just crap and failing for other reasons, there are no logic in not being able to run 32bit stuff on 64bit :@ But anyways, Mike should go for a 64bit DAW, no matter what! :D :D :D
posted on #12
User Avatar Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 26.03.17
I use presonus studio one vers. 3. The best thing I've ever used.:)
posted on #13
User Avatar Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 26.03.17
Pro tools---not the best. It has a few good functions but it gets complicated and has other issues.
wikiloops online jamsessions are brought to you with friendly support by:
carlottis

"gracias a todos los músicos que colaboran en wikiloops, es interesante la sensación de saber, que alguien en algún lugar del mundo sabe de ti y de tu música, y lo mas interesante, compartirla, GRACIAS"

Please note: As you are visiting wikiloops, any personal data that is being processed is treated in compliance to the European General Data Protection Regulation.
You may review our data privacy policy to learn how and why we are using Cookies and other techniques as we are providing our service to you.