Home »Forum»Feedback and Suggestions»Facebook login for auditor and Facebook integration

Facebook login for auditor and Facebook integration

posted on #1
User Avatar Member
Hello,

I don't know if these topics have already been covered ... it doesn't seem.

1/ it could be nice for auditor to connect to wikiloops using there facebook login to like the songs.

Auditor likes and wikiloops likes could be separate.

2/ video are better view when they play automatically in Facebook. Could it be possible to integrate the wikiloops player in facebook pages ?

BR,
Laurent
posted on #2
Founder
Hey :)

concerning question 1:
I'm aware those Facebook login / like / comment functionalities exist, and I understand why you feel they might be a convenient thing to have. I have some experience working with the technical aspects of setting up these things, and learned the hard way that one better thinks twice before going down that road.
There are quite a few reasons not to use these tools.
I'll name some in no specific order:
- these widgets slow down the page loading times significantly, leading to less good search engine rankings
- the given "likes" and "comments" would be stored on FB servers, so they'd be disconnected from the origin audio on wikiloops - leading us into a life-long dependency to FB if we don't want to loose the feedback.
Whenever FB changes rules (and they do all the time), we'd be bound to follow... and they come up with quite strange ideas sometimes. When working with them in 2014, they (to give just one example) complained the wikiloops "thumbs up" button would not comply with their rules, since it looked too much like a FB like button. Assumed 50% of our comments belonged to facebook, we would have no choice but to redesign to their likings.
That is not independence, I didn't like the taste of that at all.