Home »Forum»Recording and mixing»Automatic deletion of silences between guitar notes.

Automatic deletion of silences between guitar notes.

posted on #1
User Avatar Supporter
Hi guys.

I am a guitarist and sometimes I spend a lot of time editing the tracks after the recording.

The point is that when I play melodies, the simple touch of the pick generates a click that is recorded and I have to manually start recording it.

As I see that there are plugins for almost everything, to see if they make one that prepares breakfast :D , I do not know if there will be what I'm looking for. Thank you very much for your help.
posted on #2
Any automated plugin has dangers... you could try a little bit of "gate" effect for that
posted on #3
User Avatar Supporter
Thanks I try it. :)
posted on #4
might have a different name, maybe "noise gate"? Let us know if it worked
posted on #5
Founder
uh... hmmm... well...
yes, a noise gate is the right plug-in to try to remove any not-as-loud-as-the-wanted-signal in-between noises.
The typical use case for a noise gate are multiple single microphones (think of a drumset with a mic on each drum).
You would use a noise gate to make sure the channels go quiet except for a hit on the particular drum - without a noise gate, you would have that one drum coming thru all of your mics, making it harder to mix (such channel crossing noises are called "bleeding" btw).
That being said, a noise gate is quite a tricky thing to set up properly, because you want to make sure it "opens" as soon as you start to play, even if you don't play at full throttle.
Your described pick noise will probably not be easy to gate,
you may find out a gate set up to remove the pick noise will also remove moments when you play softly ...
you may try, but I don't think it'll work well.