Been A Bit Busy

posted on #1
User Avatar Supporter
Hi everyone, not been around much as I've been very busy with work and with learning a two hour Pink Floyd set by the 6th December. Learning all 23 minutes of the Pompeii version of Echoes has been entertaining to say the least! I've got to work with synchronised videos and incidental backings) live. Although I'm very used to a click, I've never used them live before, so that'll be fun. This is the most work I've ever had to put into a band!

Nevertheless, as always, I don't learn the tracks exactly as per the original. I learn the structures and beats but not the fills, etc.. I just try and get into the 'mindset' of the track and go from there! Keeps me fresh too!

I've had to buy a couple of toys in order to be ready for the gig, not that I really needed the excuse. The main thing was getting a trigger pad - in this case, the Alesis SamplePad Pro - to do all the non-drum kit sounds. I've also got hold of a Tascam Model 24 which stands in for my recording interface as it gives me 22-in, 24-out recording channels through an analogue mixer! Fantastic piece of kit!

Anyway, here's me testing out the kit on Pink Floyd's track Time. Loving those Rototom samples!

I'll be recording on here very soon I hope!

[youtube]Fpqc5vjvx1Q[/youtube]
Edited by mpointon on October 29 2019 17:35
If you make a mistake, do it again and make it look like you meant to do it!
posted on #2
very cool Martin :W sounded to my untrained ear as if you were getting more relaxed as the song went on, wow must be difficult to play such iconic songs but it sounds as if you guys got it down!!
posted on #3
sounds cool to me Martin :)
posted on #4
User Avatar Supporter
A flaming gong...you need the flaming gong.....[img]https://i.gifer.com/6dLF.gif[/img]
posted on #5
User Avatar Supporter
Martin -Is it Brit Floyd you are playing with?
posted on #6
User Avatar Supporter