Home »Forum»Recording and mixing»Audacity users ...

Audacity users ...

posted on #1
Supporter
Ok..so here's my issue...I am using Audacity...and trying to take alot of care in mixing my track in with others..When I think it sounds good enough to upload..After I upload it here...my track seems to be overpowering(IMHO).

Any Audacity experts here have any input as to why that is happening?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanmks...Mark
posted on #2
Supporter
Hi!
Don`t know if i am an expert but i use audacity too.
My problem is not a generaly owerpowering - it is more like a bass bosst. My uploads on wikiloops have a litlle more bass than i mixed in in audacity. But i don`t use the soundcard from my computer - i use my external audiointerface and record with audacity
Tha bass has to be a lil louder...!
posted on #3
Supporter
Yeah..I dunno...seems like something is happening to the mix during my upload..some are ok..others "different" . Drivin me crazy trying to find the issue(most likely something I am doing..or not doing). Gonna have to just review my editing and use the process of elimination I guess. Old dog..new technology..lol haha
posted on #4
Supporter
I don't think this is much of an Audacity issue. If you mix with studio monitors/headphones that are "flat" (little to no eq) then the issue with playback is not yours. Do you have a track of your playing and the backing track? If so, I can give mixing them a whirl. But, to be honest, you're always at the mercy of the mix before you. If it's bad then there's not much you can do.
Edited by DannyK on 24-01-2015 19:45
posted on #5
Supporter
Hi Mark,

If you think the amount of "boost" is consistent, then you could simply take your track and use the effect "amplify" and give it a negative (e.g. -4dB). Simple fix (once calibrated to your problem) if the observed "boost" is roughly the same each time.

Cheers,

Wade
posted on #6
just slide the speaker icon slider at the top a bit before you export the mp3