Home »Forum»Recording and mixing»Syncing tracks for mixing

Syncing tracks for mixing

posted on #1
Hello Guys!

Have some questions. While I am at work I decided to do some mixing with the tracks especially those with HD's separate track. BUt while doing so, the biggest problem is that most of the separate tracks are not sync! :(

Syncing is really a pain in the butt for me. Not only does it take time, sometimes I give up because I couldn't just do it.

How do you sync those stuffs?

Cheers!
kennyadry
posted on #2
Supporter
Hey Kenny,

I always download the MP3 and the single HD track, and I align them against each other. In any track there are places where the single track instrument can be heard on it's own, and these are great spots to enlarge the waveform in your program, and get the alignment spot on. Once I find a good spot, be it the first note or whatever, I widen both track and enlarge them a great deal, and then you can sync them very very accurately.

I am not experienced and don't consider myself a good mixer, but I have never had a case where I could not find the sync yet.

Once this is done I moved both tracks together and align them against previous tracks (if there are any). Trying to get a single track synched without the MP3 is indeed very difficult. TG
posted on #3
I use audacity for all recording work.
The trick to syncing is to work with different zoom levels. If find transients the easiest spots to sync.
First time shift the track so that they look to be aligned as a complete track. Select a easy to identify (in both tracks) transient ans select some area around that one. Zoom to selection and time shift to align the tracks. If necessary select an other portion, maybe containing identifiable zero crossings and repeat the process
Pure fingerstyle
posted on #4
Supporter